The Coptic Book of

The Prayers of the Hours


The book of AGPEYA contains the seven canonical prayers which have been cherished and practiced by the faithful Copts of the Orhtodox Church. The seven canonical prayers have their root in the Psalms. David said;"Seven times a day, do I praise you of your righteous Judgement" (Psalm 118:164).

First Hour

This hour is prayed early in the morning, and commemorates the Resurrection of the Lord (Psalm 62:1).

Third Hour

In this hour of the day, the Holy Spirit came down upon the Apostles as tongues of fire(Acts 2:15). At this hour also, Our Lord Jesus Christ was condemned.

Sixth Hour

In this hour, Our Lord Jesus Christ was crucified (John 19:14)

Ninth Hour

This hour commemorates the death of our Lord in the flesh upon the tree and the testimony of the thief at his right hand(Matthew 21:46)

Vespers (Eleventh Hour)

Instituted to commemorate the removing of the body of the Lord Jesus Christ from the Cross. The wrapping of it in linen, and the annointing of it with sweet spices.

Compline (Twelfth Hour)

This hour commemorates the laying down of the body of Christ in the grave. It corresponds to the last hour of the day before retiring, since sleep is but a temporary death (Psalm 62:6)


This hour includes three services corresponding to the three times our Lord prayed in Gethsemane (Psalm 118:62)

  • The First Watch of the midnight prayers
  • The Second Watch of the midnight prayers
  • The Third Watch of the midnight prayers

Back to Divine Liturgy